EuCornea Medal Lecture 2024

  • 27th February 2024

Professor and Head of Ophthalmology Department, Faculty of Medecine, Charles Nicolle Hospital, Rouen, France

Head of Ophthalmology Department, Jacque Monod Hospital, Le Havre, France
Medical Director of the Corneal Bank of Normandy (Rouen University Hospital)
National President of the Banque Française des Yeux (National French Eye Bank) – Paris, France
Board of the SAFIR society, member of the board of directors of the french society of ophthalmology
Member of Eucornea society, European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons
European Eye Bank Association
, Société française d’ophtalmologie ……
Chevalier of the National Order of the Legion of Honor since July 2021
Specialist in corneal surgery and complex anterior segment surgery
Author of 145 national and international publications
Guest speaker at more than 300 national and international conferences

Scientific highlights:
1st worldwide description of a combined surgery with deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty and retinal and vitreous surgery (2001)
1st worldwide description of a combined deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty and cataract surgery (2002)
1st French endothelial graft in 2004
Development of the Muraine technique for the preparation of DMEK (2013).
Inventor of the Muraine punch for the preparation of DMEK grafts
Description of a novel technique of pre-Descemetic suture technique for hydrops (2015).
1st world description of a cataract performed with a slit lamp in patients unable to lie down (2019)